Well, last night saw the 17th annual National Student Media Awards take place, and as always it was a tremendous success. We’d like to congratulate all our winners and nominees, as well as all our presenters, our brilliant host Kevin McGahern, the short-listers and particularly our interns who pulled the whole thing together!

So without further ado, here’s the complete list of all the winners on the night.

Newspaper Of The Year:

  • The College Tribune- UCD

Editor Of The Year:

  • Roisin Guyett-Nicholson, Martin Healy- UCD

Small College/Society Publication Of The Year:

  • Freshers Edition- Matthew Colfer, Niamh Haskins, Sinéad Farrelly- DIT

Journalist Of The Year- National Press:

  • Jack Power- UCD

Journalist Of The Year:

  • Ryan O’Neill- UCC

Colour Writer Of The Year:

  • Sarah Ryan- UCC

Sports Writer Of The Year:

  • Conal Cahill- UCD

Irish Times Student Hub:

  • Gerard Ball- Homophobia In The Workplace

Features Writer Of The Year- News & Current Affairs:

  • Jennifer Purcell- UL

Features Writer Of The Year- Arts & Pop Culture:

  • Rachel D’Arcy- DIT

Iriseoireacht Trí Ghaeilge- Scíofa:

  • Kevin Hughes- DIT

Layout & Design Of The Year- Newspaper:

  • Trinity News- TCD

Layout & Design Of The Year- Magazine:

  • TN2 Magazine-TCD

Magazine Of The Year:

  • Motley Magazine- UCC

Short Story Of The Year:

  • Hannah Kingston- DCU

RSA Award For Journalism On Road Safety:

  • Cailean Coffee- UCC

European Commission Award:

  • Billy Vaughan- UCD

Science Education Writer Of The Year:

  • Aisling Brennan- UCD

People’s Choice Award:

  • An Focal- UL

Blog/Vlog Of The Year:

  • The Football Writer- DCU

Website Of The Year:

  • University Observer.ie- UCD

Film Script Of The Year:

  • Andrew Roberts- UL

Short Film Of The Year:

  • Oléka- CDCFE

Short Animation Of The Year:

  • Define Intervention- BCFE

TV Production Of The Year:

  • TRANSition- LCFE

Léiriúchain Teilifíse i nGaeilge- Faisnéis & Drámaíocht:

  • Ailbhe Nic Dhonncha, Ailbhe Courtney- WIT

Sports Photographer Of The Year:

  • Nick McDonogh- LCFE

News Photographer Of The Year:

  • Joanna Gnasiuk- SCFE

Photographer Of The Year:

  • Nick Mc Donogh- LCFE

Radio Production Of The Year- News & Current Affairs:

  • The Midday Express- UCC

Radio Production Of The Year- Arts & Features:

  • Food Or Foe- DIT

Raidió Trí Ghaeilge:

  • Oisín Ó Catháin, Donal Ó Catháin- UCD

Radio Documentary Of The Year:

  • David Phelan- IADT

Radio Journalist Of The Year:

  • Stephen Murphy- DCU

Radio DJ Of The Year:

  • Matthew Kirk- QUB