On the 10th of April 2024, student journalists from all around Ireland came together to celebrate the National Student Media Awards. The evening could not have happened without the awards’ sponsors whom we would like to thank, particularly Boost Drinks who was this year’s overall sponsor. We are delighted to share this year’s winners!

Collaborative Journalism: Hosanna Boulter & Phoebe Pascoe-Trinity College Dublin

Short Story of the Year: Juliana Cooper-Technological University Dublin

Small College or Society Publication of the Year: Fachtna Mac Chonghail, An Cumann Gaelach-Trinity College Dublin

Radio Production of the Year-Arts & Features: Jodie Dempsey-Technological University Dublin

Magazine of the Year: Aoife Daly, Ruben McCarthy, Leon Thompson, Alicia Namakau, Elio Bonelli, Mia Waterhouse, Ella Lynch, Wiktoria Sobzak, Juliet Franklin, Renee Melia-Technological University Dublin

Virgin Media Digital Content Creator Award: Mariia Koshyrenkova-Colaiste Dhulaigh

Journalism relating to Health: Gemma Good-University of Limerick

Film Script of the Year: Ava Nichols-Trinity College Dublin

Léiriúcháin Teilifíse i nGaeilge – Faisnéis agus Drámaíocht: Lia Nic Craith-SETU

Website of the Year: Galway Pulse-University of Galway

RSA Journalism Relating to Road Safety: Chloe Barrett-University College Cork

News Photographer of the Year: Jake Rowat-LCFE        

SFI Journalism relating to Science & Technology: Thomas Walsh-University College Dublin

Film Documentary of the Year: Samuel Burns-ATU Galway

Virgin Media Belonging Award: Michelle Geraghty-University of Galway

Layout and Design of the Year-Publication: The Limerick Voice-University of Limerick

Journalism relating to Travel: Saoirse Wilson-University College Dublin

Satirical Writer of the Year: Connie Henry/Sasha Shame-University College Dublin

Short Film of the Year: William Cribbin, Samuel Hartford, Dylan Tuke, Nurlan Kennedy-SETU

TV Production of the Year: Philip Denvir-Queens University Belfast 

Features Writer of the Year-Arts & Pop Culture: Clara Roche-Trinity College Dublin

 Radio DJ of the Year: Britney Madondo-Technological University Dublin

Radio Documentary of the Year: Tom O’Connor-University of Galway

Journalist of the Year-National Media: Bartira Augelli-Griffith College

Radio Production of the Year-News & Current Affairs: Tom O’Connor–University of Galway

Features Writer of the Year-News & Current Affairs: Ruby Topalian-Trinity College Dublin

Raidío trí Ghaeilge: CeolMates-University College Cork

Radio Journalist of the Year: Tom O’Connor-University of Galway

GOLOUD Podcast of the year: Sadh Downes Technological University Dublin

Gearrfhíséan Dátheangach Na Bliana: Cassie Kirby-SETU

Sports Writer of the Year: Jane Prendergast-Trinity College Dublin

Sports Photographer of the Year: Rory O’Sullivan Sexton-Trinity College Dublin

EPA Award Journalism relating to the Environment: Bartira Augelli-Griffith College Dublin

European Commission Award Journalism Relating to EU Affairs: Joshua McCormack-University College Dublin

Journalist of the Year: Emma Whitney-Trinity College Dublin

Photographer of the Year: Cèline Mermier-LCFE

Editor of the Year: Tessa Ndjonkou-University College Dublin

Newspaper of the Year: Limerick Voice- University of Limerick