Did you enter this year’s Smedias? See below for our shortlisted entrants!

Please be aware that being shortlisted is not the same as being a nominee, which we will be announcing shortly. Keep an eye on Oxygen.ie for updates.

We are also sad to announce that the Web Designer of the Year category will not be going ahead, due to lack of interest. We apologise for any disappointment caused.


Journalist of the Year- National Press

  • Robert Byrne UCC
  • Ryan Nugent DIT
  • Catherine Devine DCU
  • Wayne O’ Connor UL
  • Jennifer Purcell UL
  • Luca Arfini TCD


News Photographer of the Year

  • Diarmuid O’ Donovan Limerick College of Further Education
  • Emmet Curtin UCC
  • Waltor Cassidy Limerick College of Further Education
  • Claudia Verdecellia Griffith College Dublin
  • Chaitauya Brady DCU
  • Natalia Marzec DIT
  • Simon Walsh Griffith College Dublin
  • Amana Freitas Dultra Griffith College Dublin

Newspaper of the Year

  • Brian Cowney- UCC Express UCC
  • Patrice Brady DIT
  • Sean O Reillly UCD
  • Caitrín O’Leary RCSI
  • ED: David Stapelton DIT
  • Catherine Devine-The College View DCU
  • Grainne Loughran +1UCD
  • Tomas Heneghan UL


Photographer of the Year

  • Matteusz Biskip WIT
  • Anthony Griffin Griffith College Dublin
  • John Carroll Griffith College Dublin
  • Justine Beazscs Griffith College Dublin
  • Anita de freitas Bitencourt Griffith College Dublin
  • James Keown Griffith College Dublin
  • Jossef Kukola Griffith College Dublin
  • Natalia Marzec DIT


Radio Documentary of the Year

  • Niamh O’ Donoghue DIT
  • Daniel Quinn DIT
  • (Almath) Ava Egan DIT
  • Constance Keane DIT
  • Liam Kennedy DIT
  • Shannon O’ Brien IADT
  • Jeanne Measom Griffith College Dublin
  • Stephen Dorney CIT
  • Jack Knox IADT

Radio Production of the Year – Arts and Features

  • Lauren Battersby DIT
  • Marie Cogan DIT
  • Julie Edwards Griffith College
  • Rachel O’Brien DIT
  • Liam Kennedy DIT
  • Jack O’ Toole DCU
  • Colin Layde DIT
  • Ryan Mc Bride DCU
  • Johnathan Kelly UCD
  • Angus Cunningham UCD
  • Caoimhe Ní Chathail DCU

Short Animation of the Year

  • Charlotte Reid DIT
  • Elif Boyacioglu Ballyfermot College of Further Education
  • Sean Cunningham Ballyfermot College of Further Education
  • Padraic Byrne BCFE
  • Shauna Culllen BCFE
  • David O’ Brien GMIT
  • Daniel Mc Guire Ballyfermot College of Further Education
  • Aoife Moiselle IADT
  • Aoife Moiselle & Dara Griffin, Jack Mc kenna & Yara Woods IADT
  • David Delaney BCFE
  • Hannah Cleary BCFE
  • Michal Fryzlewicz BCFE
  • Chris Craig BCFE

Small College Publication of the Year

  • Denise Walsh +5 W.I.T
  • Ruairi O Hehir Ballyfermot College of Further Education
  • Ross Cudmore Christian Brothers College
  • Walaa Ajjawi Griffith College Dublin
  • Caitrin O’Leary RSCI
  • Matthias Ritters Griffith College Dublin


Short Film of the Year

  • Sarah Dempsy + Jack Doyle ‘Hand in Hand’ Colaiste Dhulaigh
  • Lauren Shannon Jones + Martin Curley ‘Enclave’ Colaiste Dhulaigh
  • Anthony Mc Donagh ‘Tuesday, Wednesday + Thursday’ D.I.T
  • Greg Byrne and Stephen Mc Kenna ‘Small Talk’ Colaiste Dhulaigh
  • Enda Mc Donagh ‘Faith and Rectitude’ Colaiste Dhulaigh
  • Adrian Wojtas and Kieran Murray ‘A Short Film About Films’ IADT
  • Richard Barragry ‘Exterium’ CBCFE
  • Josephy Murray ‘Frenemies’ Trinity Colege Dublin
  • Gordon Hudson ‘The Wait’ GMIT


Layout and Design

  • Walaa Ajjawi Griffith College Dubin
  • Robert O’Sullivan UCC
  • Patrice Brady DIT
  • Nikita Rane RCSI
  • Liam Kennedy & 4 DIT
  • Kevin Kremers DCU
  • Ryan Nugent, Niamh Haskens etc DIT
  • Catherine Devine DCU
  • James Healy UCD
  • Catherine Devine DCU
  • Ross Cudmore Christian Brothers College
  • Patrice Brady DIT

TV Production of the Year

  • Claudia Verecchia Griffith College Dublin
  • Laura Murphy Griffith College Dublin
  • Jordan Kavanagh DCU
  • Eoin Lúc Ó Ceallaigh DCU
  • John Murphy BCFE
  • Sandy Kennedy IADT
  • Laura Gaynor & Dave Fox IADT
  • Kieran Burke LCFE
  • Nicolas Dekkers Griffith College Dublin
  • Laura Leonard Griffith College Dublin



Colour Writer of the Year

  • Eva Griffin UCD
  • Kyle Maline UCC
  • Leah Driscoll UCC
  • Lauren Mulvihill UCC
  • Robert O’ SullivanUCC
  • Rory Mc Nab TCD
  • Sarah Taaffe-Maguire TCD
  • Cathal Delaney + Cyrille Payne RCSI


Editor of the Year

  • Ruairi O’Hehir Ballyfermot College of Further Education
  • Walaa Ajjawi Griffith College Dublin
  • Ellen Desmond UCC
  • Brian Cowney etc UCC
  • BrianConway UCC
  • Sean Reilly & JJA Power UCD
  • Nikita Rane RCSI
  • Claire Prenty DCU
  • Patrick Kelleher UCD
  • Tomas Heneghan UL


Film Script of the Year

  • Anthony McDonagh Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday D.I.T
  • Aoife Bradshaw Circus Trinity College
  • Lauren Shannon- Jones + Martin Curley Endclave Colaiste Dhulaigh
  • Cormac Duff Buccaneers RCSI
  • Jason Kennealy Denise LCFE
  • Briggette Heffernan Little Flower Colaiste Dhulaigh
  • Stephen Burrett Trust LCFE
  • Sarah Lally Coming Home LCFE


Features Writer: Arts and Pop Culture

  • Rebekah Rennick UCD
  • Adam Donnelly UCD
  • Eva Griffin UCD
  • Jin Ji Lik & Su kye Ng RCSI
  • Ryan Mc Bride DCU
  • Claire Fox UCC