Attention all students! Applications for the ‘Radio Journalist of the Year’ award at this National Student Media Awards are now open.

Awarded to the best student radio journalist of the year reporting on news and current affairs. This can include campus, national and international news.

Judges will be looking for an ability to dig out original information and present it with imagination and style. Must be produced expressly for broadcast on student radio.

Previous winners of this award have gone to work for radio stations such as Newstalk, Today FM and 98FM. Some notable winners of this award include Sean Defoe.

Sean is a political correspondent for Communicorp stations Newstalk, Today FM, 98FM, Spin 1038 and Spin South-West. He also provides content to a large network of Irish local radio stations. Sean started his career in 2013 as a broadcast journalist for Beat 102-103 and went onto to become Station Manager and Head of News for DCUfm in 2014. 

We’re so excited to see your submissions and best of luck at The National Student Media Awards 2021!

Check out the category here for more information.

For our full list of Entry Guidelines see here.