So, that’s it for another year.

The Smedias last night celebrated the brightest and finest of Irelands student population and win, lose or eh, just there for the laugh, a great time was had by all involved.

MC’d for the evening by the near-obnoxiously talented Oliver Callan, with his effortless charm and bottomless well of impressions, The Smedia’s 2015 will go down as the best one yet.

The winners and indeed the ones unlucky not to take home an award are all ones to look out for in the future, with the Smedia’s proving a consistent starting point for some of Ireland’s most emminent and cherished media personalities.

Congratulations and thank you to everyone who came and made the evening the success it turned out to be.

Check out a list of all the winners and, as always, watch this space. You’ll surely be hearing about them again…


Small Publication of the Year

DUPA Photobook      Grace Nutall    Trinity College Dublin


Short Story of the Year

You Took Me To Neverland   Sarah Burke Vaughan    UCD


Web Designer of the Year    Andrew Murphy    Trinity College Dublin


Blog of the Year    Robbie Morrissey     Griffith College


Radio Production of the Year – Arts and Features

Action Replay    Cian Roche   Dublin City University


Magazine of the Year

UCC Motley    University College Cork


Short Animation of the Year

Vertical Horizons     Anita Gaughan     Institute of Art, Design and Technology


Colour Writer of the Year

Brian Matthew Conmy   University College Cork


Sports Photographer of the Year

Marius Dalseg Saetre       Griffith College


Film Script of the Year

Robbie the Rabbit    Rian Smith    IADT


Leiriuchain Teilifise i nGaelige – Faisneis & Dramaiocht

Charlie Lennon – Ceol on nCroi  –  Ciaran Durkin  WIT


Website of the Year

Trinity News    Trinity College Dublin


RSA Award for Journalism Relating to Road Safety

Sean Defoe and Eoin Sheahan   Dublin City University


Science Education of the Year

Anthea Lacchia    Trinity College Dublin


News Photographer of the Year

Emmet Curtain     UCC


Layout and Design of the Year

Catherine Healy   Trinity News   Trinity College


Short Film of the Year

Skunky Dog    James Fitzgerald     IADT


TV Production of the Year

Who I Am    Tiberio Venture    Griffth College Dublin


Features Writer of the Year – Arts and Pop Culture

Sean Hayes  University College Dublin


Radio DJ of the Year

Eoin Sheahan & Sean Defoe    Dublin City University


Iriseoireacht tri Chaelige (Scriofa)

Benn O Hogain   Trinity College Dublin


Radio Documentary of the Year

Bom Comina and Ellie O’ Byrne     Griffith College Cork


Journalist of the Year – National Press

Rachel Lavin   Trinity College Dublin


Radio Production of the Year – Current Affairs

DCUFM Newswire SU Election Special    Tommy O’ Connor      DCU


Features Writer of the Year – News and Politics

Rachel Lavin    Trinity College Dublin


Iriseoireacht tri Ghaelige (Radio)

Starroga na Seachtaine   Caoimhe Ni Chathail and Barra O Scannlain    DCU


Journalist of the Year

Eoin Sheahan    DCU


RTE New Voices Award

Leslie Leung   University of Ulster


Peoples Choice Award

Motley Magazine   UCC


Sports Writer of the Year

Ryan Bailey    Griffth College Dublin


European Commission Award

Stephanie Costello    Dublin Institute of Technology


KBC Outstanding Achievement of the Year

Cathal O Gara       UCC


Journalist of the Year

Grainne Loughran    UCD


Photographer of the Year

Tiberio Ventura    Griffith College Dublin


Editor of the Year

Meadhbh McGrath    TN2 Magazine    Trinity College
Newspaper of the Year

Trinity News       Trinity College Dublin