The 2019 National Student Media Awards are fast approaching, and we are delighted that we can announce our first selection of nominees!

These entrants have made their way through the shortlisting process, and will progress onto the next stage – the awards themselves! Competition was intense this year, so this is a fantastic achievement for everyone involved.

So without further ado, the first nominees for the 2019 National Student Media Awards are as follows! For further category announcements, keep checking our social media pages and of course, the Oxygen website!

To make sure this year’s awards are the best yet, don’t forget to vote for the People’s Choice category, which is open now.

For all those lucky nominees who can attend the event, get in touch with us at 01 561 6694, 086 793 7550, or and book your tickets! Office hours are 10am to 5pm.

Short Story of the Year

Áine Thistleton |TCD | Fox Ears

Emma Kiely | UCD | Relief

Jason Kenneally | Coláiste Dhúlaigh | The Favourite

Morgan Ruth Queeney | NUIG | Memories of Magic

Tara Hanneffy | UCD | Mummy Always Says

Blog/Vlog of the Year

Aisling O’Connor | UL | This Dream’s Alive

Ciara Dinneen | UCC |

Martin Murphy | LIT |Matt’s Epic Lit Vlog

Sadhbh Sullivan | UCC|

Seán Hickey |TUD |Two Pints Blog

Magazine of the Year

DIT Fresher’s Magazine | DIT

Footprint | Griffith College, Dublin

Highlander | Pulse College


Subvert | DIT

Colour Writer of the Year

David Kelly | DCU

Georgia Griffin | NUIG

James Simcox | UCD

Laura Fleming | UCC

Shane Clune | UCD

Sports Photographer of the Year

Ben Brady | SCFE

Dylan Termorshuizen | Griffith College

Lee O’Hare | LCFE

Mingyang Pang | UL

Paul Hughes | SCFE

Film Script of the Year

Hiram Harrington | TCD | Normal Porn for Normal People

Marketa ni Eithir | TCD | Lenka

Olivia McLaughlin | DIT | The Dressmaker

Steven Hanrahan | TCD | Crisis of Fate, Pt. 1: Baptism by Fire

Susannah Hunt | TCD | The Great Kopycinski

Léiriúcháin Teilifíse I nGaeilge – Faisnéis & Drámaíocht

Oisín Mistéil | WIT | Amach an Sliabh

Seán Ó Ciadhra | WIT | Faoin gCeann Tui

Áine Ryan | WIT | Feadóg

Amii McGuiness | WIT | Leanbh Deardaoin

Natalia Uí Fhaoláin | WIT | Ón Rinn go Reykjavik

Website of the Year

An Focal | UL

BCFEMillenial | BCFE

Limerick Voice | UL

Sadhbhers | UCC

Trinity News | TCD

SFI Science Writer of the Year

Dan Giffney | TCD

Danielle Olavario | TCD

Jessie Dolliver | TCD

Molly McCrory | TCD

Sam Cox | TCD

Layout & Design – Magazine 

DIT Fresher’s Magazine  | DIT

Footprint | Griffith College

Motley | UCC


Subvert | DIT

Layout & Design – Newspaper

Limerick Voice | UL

The College Tribune | UCD

The College View/THE HYPE | DCU

The Liberty, Issue 92 – 94 | DIT

Trinity News | TCD

Short Film of the Year

Adam Gray | BCFE | Noise

Conor Diggin | TUD | Six Portraits

Jack Cowhig, Lauren O’Brien, Tara O’Callaghan | IADT | Skint

Luke Toomey, Maud Gautier, Robert Geoghegan, Dimitri Korczak | DIT | Hooked: Skateboarding in Ireland

Nell Hensey | UCD | Almost Home

Features Writer – Arts & Popular Culture

Adam Lawler | UCD

Ash Gomez | UCD

Federica Montella | UL

Heather Reynolds | UCD

Laurie Shelly | UCC

Radio DJ of the Year

Abaigael Woods | TUD

Conor O’Neill | DCU

Jade Connell Carroll, Jessica Viola|UCD

Jude McInerney, Tommy Barrett | Mary Immaculate

Sean Ryan | Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa|

Radio Documentary of the Year

Nathan Walsh | BCFE | The Deadly Saris

Léopoldine Iribarren | Griffith College | Situation of Crisis

Jesse Melia | DIT | Hand in Hand

Jessica Spencer | DIT | The New Poets of Dublin

Sarah Harrington, Kathy O’ Hare | UCC | The Power of Language

Radio Production – News & Current Affairs

Cian Lyons, Matthew O’Leary, Patrick Power |UCD

Ciara O’Loughlin, Aine O’Boyle, Aoife O’Brien, Alison Condon, Dara Browne, Anja Zauers | DCU

Matthew Moynihan, Maeve McTaggart, Stephen Kingsley |UCC

Emil Trahan |UL

Rory Hughes, Scott Duffield, Michael Jardine, Jessica Lawrence, Jane Corscadden, Robert Murtagh, Chloe Murray| Queens

Features Writer – News & Current Affairs 

Brian Donnelly | UCD

Ciara O’Loughlin | DCU

Kathleen O’Sullivan | UL

Laura Fleming | UCC

Milena Barnes | TCD

Iriseoireacht trí Ghaeilge (Raidió)

Alice Dunne, Daniel Herlihy, Ella Curtin | UCC

Amy Coy | NUIG

Caoi Cainte | NUIG

Eibhlín Ni Chatháin | NUIG

Wuraola Majekodunmi | IADT

Radio Journalist of the Year

Ciara O’Loughlin | DCU

Fiona Keeley | UCC

Matthew Moynihan, Maeve McTaggart, Stephen Kingsley | UCC

Patrick Power | UCD

Shayan Nasser | UCC

Journalist of the Year

Dan Grennan | DIT

Evie Kearney | UL

Gabija Gataveckaite | DCU

Jenny Murphy Byrne | DIT

Muireann Duffy | UL

Photographer of the Year 

Anthony Flinter | Griffith College

Kacper Piekarski | TUD

Lee O’Hare | LCFE

Seán Moore | Griffith

Sebastian Farron-Mahon | Griffith

Radio Production – Arts & Features

Aniina Kankaansivu, Ebony Corcoran, Martina Duquette | IADT | Fire Radio

Cillian Lyne | UCC| A Play on Sound

Ivan Smyth, Ronan Coughlan | UL | Beyond the Game

Jenny Murphy Byrne | DIT | A Virtual Reality

Jessica Spencer | DIT | The New Poets of Dublin

Short Animation of the Year

Colm Dowling | BCFE |Route sixty styx

Dave Cooney | Coláiste Dhúlaigh | On the radio

Gareth Gowran | Coláiste Dhúlaigh | Sound holds the distance travelled

Gavin O’Donnell, Joshua Hogan, Lee Connolly, Lucia Lusvarghi, Owen Wyne | BCFE | Whackjobs

Marek Winnicki | Coláiste Dhúlaigh | Dobrogor

News Photographer of the Year

David Uzell | Griffith College

Giorgia Mazur Graf Schreiber | Griffith College

Joe McCallion | TCD

Kevin Newcomen |CDCFE

MingYang Pang | UL

TV Production of the Year

Carla Andreucetti, Darren Deehan, Patrick Wodhams | Coláiste Dhúlaigh | Downsizing

Eilís O’Boyle | UCD | Two a Tea

Isaac Hassah, Niamh Carey, Shane Derwin, Sylvia Moore, Tara Wright| Coláiste Dhúlaigh | Behind the Black Stuff

Jack Cowhig, Lauren O’Brien, Tara O’Callaghan |IADT | Skint

Seán Ó Ciadhra | WIT | Faoin gCeann Tui

Iriseoireacht trí Ghaeilge (Scríofa)

Alice Elizabeth Dunne | UCC

Cecily Nic Cionnaith | UCD

James McAuliffe |UCC

Jessica Ní Mháirtín | DIT

Róisín Cullen | DCU

Small College/Society Publication of the Year

DIT Fresher’s Magazine |DIT

Footprint | Griffith

Sexpress | UCC

The Liberty | TUD

The Queer Book |NUIG

European Commission Award

Aaron Bowman | UCD

Ekaterina Gillen | UCD     

Jessica Dolliver | TCD

Laurence Childs | UCD

Muireann O’Shea | UCD

Journalist of the Year – National Media

Aoife Walsh | DCU

Arthur Velker | UCD

Dan Grennan |DIT

Orla Dwyer |DCU

Rose Ugoalah |Griffith College

Sports Writer of the Year

Neil Stokes | UCD

Patrick Reid | Griffith

Peter Guckian | LCFE

Ronan Coughlan | UL

Ryan Clarke | DCU

RSA Award for Journalism in Road Safety

Cait Caden | DCU

Doireann de Courcy MacDonnell | UCD

Fergal Smiddy | UCC

Lydia Perry | Coláiste Dhúlaigh

Maeve McTaggart | UCC

Editor of the Year

Aine Kenny | NUIG | Sin

Cailean Coffey | UCC | The University Express

Dan Grennan | DIT | Subvert

Frances Watkins | UL | Limerick Voice

Niamh Lynch | TCD | Trinity News

Newspaper of the Year

Aine Kenny | NUIG | SIN Newspaper

Aaron Bowman, Muireann O’Shea | UCD | The College Tribune

Brían Donnelly & Dylan O’ Neil | UCD | The University Observer

Frances Watkins | UL | Limerick Voice

Niamh Lynch | TCD | Trinity News



Related Posts