Submissions for this year’s SMEDIAS closes on April 15th. Be sure to get your submissions in ASAP!

The National Student Media Awards is The Oscars if you are a third-level media producer who aspires to carve out a career in Ireland’s media industry. Previous winners of these awards have gone on to work for many of Ireland’s most prestigious media platforms including The Irish Times, Irish Independent, The Irish Examiner, RTÉ, Irish Daily TG4, Spin 1038 and so many, many more.

Previous winners of these awards include Irish broadcasters such as Sean Defoe, Colm Flynn, Rebecca Shekleton and Graham O’Toole.

Unsure of what to enter? Here are some inspiring words from these winners.:

‘Try to be as creative and as individual as possible. Hook (the judges) in straight away.’ – Graham O’Toole

‘Be as creative as you can… try and grab the judges’ attention as fast as possible, and most importantly, BE YOURSELF.’ – Rebecca Shekleton

‘Put your best stuff out there. Don’t be afraid to throw in something adventurous… go for it! You’ll never until someone listens to it. If you’re not in you can’t win!’ – Sean Defoe

‘Make sure it suits the category and send it in.’ – Colm Flynn