The shortlist for the Smedias is here! A massive congratulations to everyone who has been shortlisted.

This is not the final list of nominations. The final list of nominees will be announced starting on Monday and we’ll release them as they come in. Keep checking the page over the coming days!

There was so much talent in these submissions making it very difficult to narrow it down. It is an extremely high achievement to even make the shortlist and we congratulate all who made it.

NOTE: Only some categories are shortlisted like the ones mentioned below. We will be announcing the final list nominees for of all other categories as they come in.

Radio Documentary of the Year 

Luke Toomey, TUD
Niamh Phelan, BCFE
Kim Montgomery, Queens Belfast
Oliver Dingley, TUD
Gabrielle Rebecca Power, BCFE
Eimear Ryan, LCFE
Katie Flannery, UL
Dhai Al Mutairi, TUD

Photographer of the Year 

Thomas Hall, Griffith College Dublin
Tom O’Hara, Griffith College Dublin
David Sommerville, NUIG
Amy Mc Namara, LCFE
Michael Lavery, LCFE
Ciara Sheridan, LCFE
Jana Bulochova, Trinity College Dublin
Louise Jaeger, NCAD
Mark Collins, LCFE
Sarah Brunel, Ormonde College of Further Education
Eoin O’Kelly, BCFE
Sathishaa Mohan, DCU
Patrick Barnes, IADT
Daniel Byrne, DFEI

Feature Writer – Arts and Pop Culture

Oona Kauppi, Trinity College Dublin
Grace Gageby, Trinity College Dublin
Maeve Alice O’Keeffe, UCC
Joey Fanthom, Trinity College Dublin
Ciara Connolly, Trinity College Dublin
Izzy Rowley, TUD
James McCleary, Trinity College Dublin
Jake Hurley, TUD
Cathal Donovan O’Neill, UCC
Róisín Ryan, Trinity College Dublin
Alana Daly Mulligan, UCC
E. Keogh, UCD

Feature Writer – News and Current Affairs

Jack Ryan, Trinity College Dublin
Jamie Mc Carron, DCU
Clare O’Beara, DBS
Molly Cantwell, University of Limerick
Conor Capplis, UCD
Sophie Finn, UCD
Brianna Walsh, UCD
Megan O’Brien, Tu Dublin City Campus
Ronan Fitzpatrick Sands, Colaiste Dhulaigh
Rían Browne, UCC
Alana Daly Mulligan, UCC

Film Documentary 

Daniel Heaphy, CIT
Rachel Gregan, BCFE
Deirdre Devine, Letterkenny IT
Daniel Sharkey, Tu Dublin Blanchardstown

Mostafa Darwish, University of Limerick

Aimée Bell; Samuel Robinson, Queens Belfast 
Lucie Affronti, Queens Belfast 
Iarfhlaith Ó Domhnall, WIT
David CJ Conroy, IADT

Film Script – Short (Film Script has been split into 2, Short and Feature, just because theres so many of them! Nominees for Feature Film will be announced next week) 

Hugo Beazley, Trinity College Dublin
Sydney Blackburn, Trinity College Dublin
Signe Lury, Trinity College Dublin
Sarah Harold, BCFE
Fionn Duffy, Trinity College Dublin
Lee McPartlin, BCFE
Katelyn Doyle, BCFE
Cáit Murphy, Trinity College Dublin
Carla Meaney, Trinity College Dublin
Ciaran Brennan, Trinity College Dublin

Journalist of the Year 

Alana Daly Mulligan, UCC
Conor Daly, UCC
Stephen Moynihan, UCC
Trudy Feenane, DCU
Mostafa Darwish, University of Limerick
Conor Capplis, UCD
Erica Carter, TUD
Lauren Boland, Trinity College Dublin

Podcast of the Year

Anisha-Cheyenne Rice, TUD
Nicola Browne, TUD
Erica Carter, TUD
Scott Mason, Colaiste Dhulaigh
Emily Dowling, BCFE
Ruairí Egan, DCU
Robbie O Donnell, LIT
Alanna Macnamee; Huiyuan Hu; Denise Wiedemann, Queens Belfast 
Isabelle Schulz; Rhona Edwards; Joseph O’Hagan, Queens Belfast 
Daniel Byrne, DFEI

Short Film 

Brendan Morris, Griffith College Dublin
Peter Keating, Jessica Maher, Colaiste Dhulaigh
David Sommerville, NUIG
Eoin O’Kelly, BCFE
Tom Farrelly, BCFE
Aaron Cleary, LIT
Aisling O’Regan Sargent, Philip Emo, Dylan Keenan, IADT
Mariana Nava, Griffith College Dublin
Katie Freeney, BCFE

Sports Writer of the Year 

Oisin Bradley, NUIG
James Roulston Mooney, University of Limerick
Lauren McCann, Queens Belfast
Sam Curtin, UCC
Mario Bowden, Trinity College Dublin
Ivan Smyth, University of Limerick
Cahal McAuley, UCD
Ronan Coughlan, University of Limerick
Ronan Daly, UCD