We are delighted to announce that the Irish Daily Mirror is the newest sponsor of this year’s National Student Media awards!

This year, the Irish Daily Mirror will sponsor the Sports Writer of the Year Award and support the already glowing future of sports journalism in Ireland.

The Irish Daily Mirror has been one of the leading voices in Irish journalism since it was launched in 1997, with both its print edition and online platform providing some of Ireland’s biggest news and sports stories each and every day.

Previous winners of this award have gone on to excel in their field; last year’s winner, Conal Cahill from University College Dublin has gone on to write for influential sports websites such as Balls.ie and Pundit Arena and 2015’s winner, Ryan Bailey from Griffith College currently works as a Sports Journalist for the42.ie.

With the Irish Daily Mirror being one of the leading voices for sports coverage in Ireland, we are thrilled to have them on board to sponsoring this award and welcoming the next batch of talented sports reporters.

For all the details on how to apply to enter this category, please click here.